Postal Service Retirement Invitation

Hello!

I have a special invitation to share with you today. My mom is retiring from the postal service after 26 years, so we are going to have a little party for her. My brother and I created these invitations using Microsoft Publisher. We wanted to give my mom a hard time so we added the stamp on the left “Damanaged in Handling in the Postal Service” and we played that up by bending a couple corners and distressing the postcard a lot. We used scissors to rough up the edges and used Soft Suede ink to darken the edges. The different images such as the “Damaged” stamp, the bard code at the bottom and the postmark are all from a font called Dead Letter Office that I downloaded at http://www.dafont.com. I also downloaded the typewriter looking font there too. Thanks for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “Postal Service Retirement Invitation

  1. I love this! Can you tell me how you created the border for this project? My mom is also about to retire from the postal service and I am in the process of making invitations.
    Thanks,
    Taylor

    • Hi Taylor!
      Thanks for liking my invitation. I found a diagonal background online and then in Windows Paint, I recolored each line to red and navy. Then under “Brushes” I used the colored pencil one and drew a white box over the stripes to make them look a bit aged. I then created the invitation in Publisher so I copied over the backround into there and put a white box over it so only the edges showed….maybe a little bit confusing. If you wanted to, I could email you the background so you would not have to recreate it? Let me know! Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Stampin’ UP! Sent With Love | Inspired By Hue

  3. Pingback: Stampin’ Up! Postal Service Banner | Inspired By Hue

  4. Hi Taylor!
    Is there anyway you could email me the background as well?? My dad is retiring from USPS in Feb and these are the PERFECT invitations! You did an amazing job….
    my email address is weller.jamie@gmail.com. Thank you so much! Jamie

  5. That is an awesome invitation!! Could you email me the background also please…my father-in-law is retiring from the USPS and we are planning a party. It would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

