Stampin’ Up! Summer Silhouettes

Hello,

Today I have a card to share with you for sketch challenge at Unscripted Sketches. If about a year ago when Summer Starfuit debuted, you would have told me that I would love it, I would have told you that you are crazy. But, after using it and pairing it with a couple of different colors, I really do like it. I think Crumb Cake works great with Summer Starfruit so I chose that as my base and rounded the corners. I created a flag using my square punch from some Summer Starfruit cardstock. I have to tell you, it has been a while since I have pulled out my embossing supplies, but I actually did for the design on the flag. I used the pattern stamp from the set Summer Silhouettes that I embossed in clear embossing powder. I actually stamped the image twice using my Stamp-a-ma-jig (see tutorial here). I added a button tied with some Baker’s Twine. I pulled out my two stamps that I got with my first Paper Pumpkin kit and stamped the ink spots randomly around the card and the sentiment in Basic Gray. I showed this card to my husband and he said “looks kinda utilitarian”…surprisingly, that is kinda what I was going for =) Thanks for stopping by! Have a great day!

photo 1US_Sketch203

5 thoughts on “Stampin’ Up! Summer Silhouettes

  1. Great card! Love the CAS design and you’re right, the Summer Starfruit works perfectly with Crumb Cake! The twine and the button are just the right touch too! Bev

  2. Fabulous job interpreting the sketch! I love the ‘somewhat utilitarian’ look that you achieved! The double embossed image on the tag really stands out (great idea!). I like the balance that you achieved by placing the sentiment in the bottom corner – it TOTALLY grounds the card. Well done. Thanks for choosing our Unscripted Sketch to showcase your awesome card!

  3. The splatters are a great finish to a wonderfully simple take on the sketch! A great card! Thank you for joining us at Unscripted Sketches 🙂

Leave a Reply

